Skip to main content

IANA Stewardship Transition Coordination Group Members

IANA Stewardship Arrow

The IANA Stewardship Transition Coordination Group (ICG) is comprised of 30 individuals representing 13 communities, and includes direct and indirect stakeholders. These representatives have been selected by their respective communities.

ALAC   Mohamed El Bashir
ALAC   Jean-Jacques Subrenat
ASO   Hartmut Glaser
ccNSO   Xiaodong Lee
ccNSO   Mary Uduma
ccNSO   Keith Davidson
ccNSO   Martin Boyle
GAC*   Manal Ismail
GAC*   Thomas Schneider1
GAC*   Kavouss Arasteh
GAC*   Michael Niebel
GAC*   Jandyr Ferreira dos Santos
GNSO   Wolf-Ulrich Knoben
GNSO   Milton Mueller
GNSO   James Bladel
gTLD Registries   Keith Drazek
gTLD Registries   Jon Nevett
ICC/BASIS   Joseph Alhadeff
IAB   Russ Housley
IAB   Lynn St Amour
IETF   Jari Arkko
IETF   Alissa Cooper
ISOC   Narelle Clark
ISOC   Demi Getschko
NRO   Alan Barrett
NRO   Paul Wilson
RSSAC   Daniel Karrenberg
RSSAC   Lars-Johan Liman
SSAC   Patrik Fältström
SSAC   Russ Mundy
ICANN Board Liaison   Kuo-Wei Wu
IANA Staff Liaison Expert   Elise Gerich

*17 July 2014 – The ICG accepted the GAC's request to increase the number of GAC representatives in the ICG from two to five.

ICANN called to the respective community members represented in the ICG to launch their internal processes to select their representatives. Below are the community announcements of the various processes:

Community Process Announcements:

Other Relevant Articles:

For access to photos, bios and video interviews with the ICG members, please visit the Meet the IANA Stewardship Transition Coordination Group page.

1 17 October 2014 – Following the GAC elections, Thomas Schneider, replaces Heather Dryden as a GAC nominee to the ICG.

Domain Name System
Internationalized Domain Name ,IDN,"IDNs are domain names that include characters used in the local representation of languages that are not written with the twenty-six letters of the basic Latin alphabet ""a-z"". An IDN can contain Latin letters with diacritical marks, as required by many European languages, or may consist of characters from non-Latin scripts such as Arabic or Chinese. Many languages also use other types of digits than the European ""0-9"". The basic Latin alphabet together with the European-Arabic digits are, for the purpose of domain names, termed ""ASCII characters"" (ASCII = American Standard Code for Information Interchange). These are also included in the broader range of ""Unicode characters"" that provides the basis for IDNs. The ""hostname rule"" requires that all domain names of the type under consideration here are stored in the DNS using only the ASCII characters listed above, with the one further addition of the hyphen ""-"". The Unicode form of an IDN therefore requires special encoding before it is entered into the DNS. The following terminology is used when distinguishing between these forms: A domain name consists of a series of ""labels"" (separated by ""dots""). The ASCII form of an IDN label is termed an ""A-label"". All operations defined in the DNS protocol use A-labels exclusively. The Unicode form, which a user expects to be displayed, is termed a ""U-label"". The difference may be illustrated with the Hindi word for ""test"" — परीका — appearing here as a U-label would (in the Devanagari script). A special form of ""ASCII compatible encoding"" (abbreviated ACE) is applied to this to produce the corresponding A-label: xn--11b5bs1di. A domain name that only includes ASCII letters, digits, and hyphens is termed an ""LDH label"". Although the definitions of A-labels and LDH-labels overlap, a name consisting exclusively of LDH labels, such as"""" is not an IDN."