Read ICANN Blogs to stay informed of the latest policymaking activities, regional events, and more.

Recognizing Our Community Leaders

2 April 2014
By David Olive

In addition to the ICANN Languages, this content is also available in

by David Olive, Vice President of Policy Development Support

A group photo of ICANN's Volunteer Leaders

ICANN Celebrates Volunteer Leaders: (Left to right) Dr. Steve Crocker, José Arce, Sylvia Herlein Leite, Holly Raiche, Avri Doria, Rafik Dammak, Chris Chaplow, Marie-Laure Lemineur, Roelof Meijer, and Fadi Chehadé.

ICANN’s growth and evolution as a multistakeholder organization depends on the sustained engagement of our community. Indeed, our greatest asset is community member time and commitment to the work of ICANN.

During ICANN 49 in Singapore, the ICANN community recognized ten leaders for their service. These leaders included David Archbold, Geographic Regions Review Working Group chair, and Rafik Dammak, Non-Commercial Users constituency voting delegate on the Nominating Committee.

From the At-Large community, we thanked Avri Doria, New gTLD Working Group chair; Holly Raiche, APRALO chair; José Arce, LACRALO chair; and Sylvia Herlein Leite, LACRALO secretariat. Roelof Meijer was honored for his service as ccNSO councilor, and Chris Chaplow was acknowledged for his service as Commercial Business Users constituency vice chair in the GNSO.

Our community also paid tribute to the lives and careers of two past leaders. Marie-Laure Lemineur, chair of the Not-for-Profit Operational Concerns constituency, remembered Alain Berranger for his service as the inaugural chair of NPOC. Bruce Tonkin, vice chair of the Board of Directors, gave remarks about Jon Bing and his tenure on the GNSO Council. Both Alain and Jon leave lasting legacies at ICANN and continue to inspire their colleagues and our community.

Dr. Steve Crocker, Chair of the Board of Directors, concluded the program by formally thanking our community participants on behalf of the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors also approved a resolution at its public meeting on 27 March recognizing the leadership and contributions of our community members.

The Policy Development Support team is committed to recognizing our community members for their efforts. They are critical to the success of policy development work at ICANN. We are deeply grateful for their dedication and for their leadership in our bottom-up community.


David Olive

David Olive