Preliminary Report | Special Meeting of the Board 29 January 2003

(Posted 3 February 2003)

ICANN's Transition Board of Directors held a meeting by teleconference on 29 January 2003. Directors Vint Cerf (chairman), Amadeu Abril i Abril, Karl Auerbach, Ivan Moura Campos, Lyman Chapin, Jonathan Cohen, Mouhamet Diop, Masanobu Katoh, Hans Kraaijenbrink, Sang-Hyon Kyong (joined the meeting while in progress), Andy Mueller-Maguhn, Jun Murai (attended first part of meeting), Alejandro Pisanty (joined the meeting while in progress), Nii Quaynor, Helmut Schink, Francisco da Silva, and Linda Wilson participated.

CEO Search

The meeting was held for the specific purpose of conducting interviews with finalist candidates for the position of ICANN CEO. A discussion among the Board members concerning the relative qualifications of the candidates followed the interviews. After that discussion, the sentiment of the Board members was that additional discussion by the Board would be helpful before a decision is made. The discussion will therefore continue at a teleconference meeting of the Board to be scheduled in the near future.