ICANN Announces NextGen@ICANN67 Participants

6 December 2019

LOS ANGELES – 06 December 2019 – The Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) has announced the individuals selected to participate in the NextGen Program at ICANN67 in Cancún, Mexico from 7-12 March 2020.

The 12 individuals all attend Latin American universities and are engaged in studies in law, social communications, and international affairs. In addition, three previous NextGen Program participants will serve as ambassadors for the newcomers at the Public Meeting.

An independent committee selected the successful candidates based on their current studies and interest in global policy and Internet governance.

ICANN67 NextGen Program participants:

Gabriel Araújo Souto Law School of the Brazilian Institute of Public Law
Pollyanna Rigon Valente Universidade Regional Integrada das Missões
Ignacio Martínez Costa Universidad de la República
María Belén Pérez Roa Universidad Nacional de Asunción
Federica Tortorella Casilla Instituto Europeo de Posgrado
Ernesto Guerrero Universidad Autonoma de Mexico
Benjamin Chong Castillo Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
Rodrigo Iván Alexandre Pedroso Universidad de la República
Flávia de Carvalho Silva Federal University of Pernambuco
Isabele Cristine Oliveira Ribeiro Universidade Estadual do Sudoeste da Bahia
Cindyneia Ramos Cantanhede Federal University of Maranhão
Carlos Guerrero Argote National University of San Marco

ICANN67 NextGen Program ambassadors:

Élisson Diones Cazumbá Cerqueira Pinto ICANN62
Desh Deepak Dwivedi ICANN64
Sabrina Wilkinson ICANN63

Click here for more information about the NextGen Program.


ICANN's mission is to help ensure a stable, secure, and unified global Internet. To reach another person on the Internet, you need to type an address – a name or a number – into your computer or other device. That address must be unique so computers know where to find each other. ICANN helps coordinate and support these unique identifiers across the world. ICANN was formed in 1998 as a not-for-profit public-benefit corporation with a community of participants from all over the world.