Skip to main content

ICANN Officers and Board Members Statements of Interest Summary relating to ICANN matters¹ (in alphabetical order)

28 January 2019


  1. Susanna Bennett – SVP & Chief Operating Officer: Nothing identified.
  2. Xavier Calvez – SVP & Chief Financial Officer: Nothing identified.
  3. John Jeffrey – General Counsel and Secretary: Nothing identified.
  4. Göran Marby – President and Chief Executive Officer: Nothing identified.
  5. David Olive – SVP, Policy Development Support: Nothing identified.
  6. Ashwin Rangan – SVP, Engineering and Chief Information Officer: Nothing identified.
  7. Theresa Swinehart – SVP, Multistakeholder Strategy & Strategic Initiatives: Nothing identified.

Board Members (Directors and Liaisons):

  1. Harald Alvestrand: Software engineer for Google Sweden owned by Google Inc., which is a registry operator for several gTLDs, a registrar and a new gTLD applicant.
  2. Maarten Botterman: Chairman of Supervisory Board of NLnet Foundation; Board member for Institute for Accountability in the Digital Age, which is a non-profit aimed at enhancing accountability in the digital age; supporting the GFCE global Internet Infrastructure Initiative with the aims at strengthening the Internet through multistakeholder dialogue and promotion of relevant open standards such as IPv6, DNSSEC, etc.; supporting the Canadian Secure IoT initiative with the aims at strengthening the Internet through multistakeholder dialogue and promotion of safer development, deployment and use of IoT; contracted with Avri Doria to be Quality Assurer on project related to governance of European Open Science Cloud; Chair of IGF related Dynamic Coalitions for IoT; member of IGF related Dynamic Coalitions for DNS Issues; member of advisory group that supports the work of the Global Council for Security in Cyberspace connected to the Research Advisory Group on Internet Governance. 
  3. J. Beckwith Burr: Deputy General Counsel and Chief Privacy Officer for Neustar, Inc., which contracts with ICANN to operate .BIZ and .NEUSTAR, and which provides back-end registry services for numerous other gTLDs under contract with ICANN; Neustar also is responsible for payment of ccTLD contributions to ICANN for .US and .CO consistent with the ccNSO guidelines (currently set at US $75,000 for each ccTLD).
  4. Cherine Chalaby: Nothing identified.
  5. Ron da Silva: Works for Internet Tool & Die Company that has the same shareholders as Denuo, which is involved directly, or through subsidiaries or affiliates, with the marketing of legacy IPv4 address space.
  6. Sarah Deutsch: Director for Electronic Frontier Foundation; on Internet Committee of International Trademark Association; a sole practitioner attorney working part time re: on IP and Internet liability issue for clients that may operate new gTLDs but has not been involved in those client's gTLD issues.
  7. Chris Disspain: Nothing identified.
  8. Avri Doria: Contracted with Maarten Botterman as Quality Assurer on project related to governance of European Open Science Cloud; New York Chapter of Internet Society director; member of Executive Committee for IGFSA, which is involved in funding support for IGF and NRIs; member of the Internet Research Steering Group; serves as secretariat for Dynamic Coalition (IGF) on Schools of Internet Governance.
  9. Rafael (Lito) Ibarra: President of Asociación SVNet, which operates the .SV ccTLD and is a member of the ccNSO; Board member of LACNIC; Board member of Edge, which provides Educational IT services.
  10. Manal Ismail: Executive Director, International Technical Coordination for the National Telecom Regulatory Authority of Egypt, which operates IDN ccTLD for Egypt and has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with ICANN to establish DNS Entrepreneurship Center in Egypt; a work colleague is on the League of Arab States steering committee for the .ARAB new gTLD and its Arabic IDN equivalent, which are delegated to the League of Arab States.
  11. Danko Jevtovic: Board member and treasurer for CENTR; employed by ICT consultancy and investments; holds de minimus amount of stock in some publicly traded companies that have contracted for or have applied for one or more top-level domains.
  12. Merike Kaeo: CEO of Double Shot Security which consults on strategic and tactical cybersecurity issues; member of advisory group that supports the work of the Global Council for Security in Cyberspace connected to the Research Advisory Group on Internet Governance; Double Shot Security has a contract with Network Startup Resource Center (NSRC) to occasionally provide resources for trainings and workshops.
  13. Khaled Koubaa: CEO of ABWEB, an NGO for digital literacy; Board member of OP3FT, which is an Internet organization; principal of Internet Extrem group, which is a web design, hosting and domain name reselling entity.
  14. Akinori Maemura: General Manager of Internet Development Department of Japan Network Information Center (JPNIC); Board member of JPCERT Coordination Center; Board member of Asia Pacific Institute of Digital Economy.
  15. Göran Marby: Nothing identified.
  16. Kaveh Ranjbar: Chief Information Officer of RIPE NCC.
  17. Nigel Roberts: Director/Shareholder of the following companies: (a) Island Networks Ltd and Island Networks (Jersey) Ltd, the ccNSO member ccTLD managers of GG and JE respectively; (b) Island Networks (Registrar) Ltd, which is a non-ICANN-accredited registrar; (c) CI Domain Registry Ltd and AS Domain Registry Ltd, which are Registry Service Providers to small ccTLDs; (d) Omadhina Internet Services Ltd (Ald.) and Omadhina Internet Services Ltd (Ireland), which are involved with ccTLD domain name marketing.
  18. Léon Felipe Sanchez Ambia: Nothing identified.
  19. Tripti Sinha: Responsible for operations of DNS root services (d-root) at University of Maryland.
  20. Matthew Shears: Consultant with the Internet Society and Global Partners Digital.

1 Note that the activities of ICANN itself are not listed in this document.

Domain Name System
Internationalized Domain Name ,IDN,"IDNs are domain names that include characters used in the local representation of languages that are not written with the twenty-six letters of the basic Latin alphabet ""a-z"". An IDN can contain Latin letters with diacritical marks, as required by many European languages, or may consist of characters from non-Latin scripts such as Arabic or Chinese. Many languages also use other types of digits than the European ""0-9"". The basic Latin alphabet together with the European-Arabic digits are, for the purpose of domain names, termed ""ASCII characters"" (ASCII = American Standard Code for Information Interchange). These are also included in the broader range of ""Unicode characters"" that provides the basis for IDNs. The ""hostname rule"" requires that all domain names of the type under consideration here are stored in the DNS using only the ASCII characters listed above, with the one further addition of the hyphen ""-"". The Unicode form of an IDN therefore requires special encoding before it is entered into the DNS. The following terminology is used when distinguishing between these forms: A domain name consists of a series of ""labels"" (separated by ""dots""). The ASCII form of an IDN label is termed an ""A-label"". All operations defined in the DNS protocol use A-labels exclusively. The Unicode form, which a user expects to be displayed, is termed a ""U-label"". The difference may be illustrated with the Hindi word for ""test"" — परीका — appearing here as a U-label would (in the Devanagari script). A special form of ""ASCII compatible encoding"" (abbreviated ACE) is applied to this to produce the corresponding A-label: xn--11b5bs1di. A domain name that only includes ASCII letters, digits, and hyphens is termed an ""LDH label"". Although the definitions of A-labels and LDH-labels overlap, a name consisting exclusively of LDH labels, such as"""" is not an IDN."