Skip to main content

ICANN 52 Fellowship Participants

ICANN Fellows Logo

50 fellows from 37 countries have been selected to participate in ICANN's Fellowship program at the 52nd Public Meeting in Singapore, 8-12 February 2015.

8 of the fellows are alumni from at least one of the past 23 programs who will mentor newcomers as well as engage with their respective community; 33 are first-time attendees to an ICANN meeting, and 9 have attended meetings in past but are fellows for the first time. The individuals represent all sectors of society including civil, government, academia, business, not-for-profit and user groups. The country code and technical groups are also represented.

Here is the list of selected fellows for ICANN 52:

Abdelmonim Osman – Sudan – Academic

Ahlam Abu-Jadallah – Jordan – Government

Ahmed Eisa – Sudan – Not For Profit

Alfred Arouna – Benin – Business

Amal Al-Saqqaf – Yemen – Academic

Ana Kakalashvili – Georgia – Academic

Anri van der Spuy – South Africa – Academic

Babu Ram Aryal – Nepal – Not For Profit

Bennette Thomas – Dominica – Government

Catherine Niwagaba – Uganda – Government

Charles Oloo – Kenya – Not For Profit

Christian Mulola – Rwanda – End User

Dusan Popovic – Serbia – Academic

Esther Patricia Akello – Uganda – Government

Fawaz Saleem Bokhari – Pakistan – Academic

Ghazi Salahaldeen – State of Palestine – Business

Guylaine Mootoo – Mauritius – Not For Profit

Ibrahim Alfayoumi – State of Palestine – End User

Isaque Manteiga Joaquim – Mozambique – Academic

Isaac Maposa – Zimbabwe – Business

James Mutandwa Madya – Zimbabwe – Government

Jia He – China – Academic

Jonathan Gahamanyi – Burundi – Business

Kartik Kulkarni – India – Not For Profit

Khaled Esheh – Libyan Arab Jamahiriya – Business

Lawrence Olawale-Roberts – Nigeria – Government

Marilia Monteiro – Brazil – Government

Mathias Etheyemon Houngbo – Benin – Academic

Mehrzad Azghandi – Islamic Republic of Iran – Civil Society

Michael Ilishebo – Zambia – Government

Mohamed Adas – State of Palestine – End User

Mohammad Adbul Awal Haolader – Bangladesh – End User

Mohammad Kawsar Uddin – Bangladesh – Not For Profit

Muhammed Njie – The Gambia – Academic

Neil Checo – Dominican Republic – Government

Onica Nonhiahhia Makwakwa – South Africa – Not For Profit

Oratile Slave – Botswana – Government

Rao Naveed Bin Rais – Pakistan – Academic

Rohana Chaminda Akmeemana Palliyaguru – Sri Lanka – Government

Rokhaya Daour Diatta – Senegal – End User

Said Marjan Zazal – Afghanistan – Not For Profit

Salieu Taal – The Gambia – Business

Samer Khalil – Lebanon – Academic

Sidra Iqbal – Pakistan – Academic

Shiva BIssessar – Trinidad and Tobago – Business

Spencer Thomas – Grenada – Government

Toilem Godwin – Kenya – Not For Profit

Victor Manuel Lagunes Soto Ruiz – Mexico – Government

Wisdom Kwasi Donkor – Ghana – Government

Zakir Syed – Pakistan – Not For Profit

As always, the ICANN Fellowship Selection Committee, independent of ICANN, assessed each of the 219 fellowship applications received for this meeting Priority is given to applicants from the region in which the meeting is being held who: meet minimum program requirements, are current residents of developing and least developed nations in the five ICANN regions, and are interested in participating in ICANN and its supporting organizations, advisory committees, stakeholder groups and constituencies.

Click here to find out more about the fellowship program and how to apply:

More Announcements
Domain Name System
Internationalized Domain Name ,IDN,"IDNs are domain names that include characters used in the local representation of languages that are not written with the twenty-six letters of the basic Latin alphabet ""a-z"". An IDN can contain Latin letters with diacritical marks, as required by many European languages, or may consist of characters from non-Latin scripts such as Arabic or Chinese. Many languages also use other types of digits than the European ""0-9"". The basic Latin alphabet together with the European-Arabic digits are, for the purpose of domain names, termed ""ASCII characters"" (ASCII = American Standard Code for Information Interchange). These are also included in the broader range of ""Unicode characters"" that provides the basis for IDNs. The ""hostname rule"" requires that all domain names of the type under consideration here are stored in the DNS using only the ASCII characters listed above, with the one further addition of the hyphen ""-"". The Unicode form of an IDN therefore requires special encoding before it is entered into the DNS. The following terminology is used when distinguishing between these forms: A domain name consists of a series of ""labels"" (separated by ""dots""). The ASCII form of an IDN label is termed an ""A-label"". All operations defined in the DNS protocol use A-labels exclusively. The Unicode form, which a user expects to be displayed, is termed a ""U-label"". The difference may be illustrated with the Hindi word for ""test"" — परीका — appearing here as a U-label would (in the Devanagari script). A special form of ""ASCII compatible encoding"" (abbreviated ACE) is applied to this to produce the corresponding A-label: xn--11b5bs1di. A domain name that only includes ASCII letters, digits, and hyphens is termed an ""LDH label"". Although the definitions of A-labels and LDH-labels overlap, a name consisting exclusively of LDH labels, such as"""" is not an IDN."