Public Comment

Public Comment is a vital part of our multistakeholder model. It provides a mechanism for stakeholders to have their opinions and recommendations formally and publicly documented. It is an opportunity for the ICANN community to effect change and improve policies and operations.

Inter-Registrar Transfer Policy – Denial of Transfers (Reasons #8 and #9)

Open: 26 June 08
Closed: 18 July 08

Explanation: As part of its ongoing efforts to review the Inter-Registrar Transfer Policy (the rules for transfer of domain names between registrars) the GNSO Council seeks community review and comment on two proposed revisions to the IRTP regarding reasons for which a registrar of record may deny a request to transfer a domain name to a new registrar. The two revisions being considered by the Council are referred to as Reason # 8 and Reason # 9. They are part of a larger policy development process (PDP) that has involved a subset of four reasons (Reason # 5 and # 7 in addition to # 8 and # 9) for which a registrar could deny a transfer request.

The overall IRTP review has become a considerable undertaking that could ultimately span as many as six separate policy development processes. A review of the current PDP involving Reasons # 8 and # 9 is set forth in the announcement for this comment forum.

On 17 April 2008, the GNSO Council launched a drafting group to develop suggested text modifications for Reasons 5, 7, 8 and 9. The drafting group delivered a Final Draft Report [PDF, 48K] dated 4 June 2008, proposing new textual language for reasons 8 and 9, while suggesting that denial reasons 5 and 7 be considered within a separate proposed PDP or a future PDP that offers a stronger linkage with those issues.

The Council agreed with the recommendations of the drafting group. It directed the staff to post the proposed new text for Reasons # 8 and # 9 for constituency and public comments and report back to the Council with a summary of the comments received.

You can read the recommendations regarding Reasons # 8 and # 9 with the proposed new language here: [PDF, 32K]

Comments on the document are welcome through 18 July 2008.
Staff member responsible: Olof Nordling

Announcement | Comments | Summary/analysis of comments