Preliminary Report | Special Meeting of the Board 23 January 2003

(Posted 28 January 2003)

ICANN's Transition Board of Directors held a meeting by teleconference on 23 January 2003. Directors Vint Cerf (chairman), Amadeu Abril i Abril, Karl Auerbach, Ivan Moura Campos, Lyman Chapin, Jonathan Cohen (joined the meeting while in progress), Mouhamet Diop (joined the meeting while in progress), Masanobu Katoh, Hans Kraaijenbrink, Alejandro Pisanty, Nii Quaynor (joined the meeting while in progress), Helmut Schink (participated only in the first part of the meeting), and Francisco da Silva, and Linda S. Wilson participated.

CEO Search

The Board received a report from the CEO Search Committee and discussed finalist candidates for the new CEO who will replace Stuart Lynn, who has expressed his desire to retire from the position in the first quarter of 2003. The Board agreed to conduct detailed interviews with finalist candidates and to select a preferred candidate from among the finalists at a meeting to take place after the interviews are completed.