Skip to main content

Secretary's Notice

At-Large Directors Electing to Serve on the Transition Board

Article XX (the "Transition Article"), Section 2 of the New Bylaws, which became effective on 15 December 2002, establishes a "Transition Board" to serve as ICANN's Board of Directors until ten Directors can be selected under the mechanisms of the New Bylaws to serve on the "New Board."

The Transition Board consists of (a) those Directors who would have served after 15 December 2002 under the Old Bylaws and (b) those At-Large Directors on the Old Board who elect to serve on the Transition Board. (All At-Large Director terms were scheduled to end at the conclusion of the 15 December 2002 ICANN annual meeting.)

Elections by the At-Large Directors

The elections to continue by the At-Large Directors must be made by "notifying the Secretary of the Board [1] on 15 December 2002 or [2] in writing or by e-mail no later than 23 December 2002". (Article XX, Section 2(1).) Seven of the nine At-Large Directors made their elections at the annual meeting on 15 December 2002. Of those, all but Frank Fitzsimmons elected to serve on the Transition Board. Directors Karl Auerbach and Jun Murai made their elections by subsequent e-mail to the Secretary. Both elected to serve:

From Karl Auerbach

-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Re: [icann-board] Possible Membership on the Transition Board
Date: Sat, 21 Dec 2002 19:36:05 -0800 (PST)
From: Karl Auerbach <>
To: Louis Touton <>

I have decided in the affirmative - I elect to serve as a member of the transition board.


Karl Auerbach
[message to which this message responds has been omitted]

From Jun Murai

-------- Original Message --------
Date: Fri, 20 Dec 2002 10:53:15 +0900
From: Jun Murai <>


I hereby notify Louis Touton, Secretary of ICANN, that I elect to serve on the Transition Board of ICANN established in Article XX, Section 2(1) of the ICANN Bylaws adopted on 15 December 2002.

Name: Jun Murai

Date of notification: December 19, 2002 [Los Angeles time]

Composition of the Transition Board

Under the ICANN bylaws, the Transition Board consists of:

  • Vinton G. Cerf, Chairman
  • Alejandro Pisanty, Vice-Chairman
  • Amadeu Abril i Abril
  • Karl Auerbach
  • Ivan Moura Campos
  • Lyman Chapin
  • Jonathan Cohen
  • Mouhamet Diop
  • Masanobu Katoh
  • Hans Kraaijenbrink
  • Sang-Hyon Kyong
  • M. Stuart Lynn
  • Andy Mueller-Maguhn
  • Jun Murai
  • Nii Quaynor
  • Helmut Schink
  • Francisco A. Jesus Silva
  • Linda S. Wilson

Respectfully submitted,

Louis Touton

Domain Name System
Internationalized Domain Name ,IDN,"IDNs are domain names that include characters used in the local representation of languages that are not written with the twenty-six letters of the basic Latin alphabet ""a-z"". An IDN can contain Latin letters with diacritical marks, as required by many European languages, or may consist of characters from non-Latin scripts such as Arabic or Chinese. Many languages also use other types of digits than the European ""0-9"". The basic Latin alphabet together with the European-Arabic digits are, for the purpose of domain names, termed ""ASCII characters"" (ASCII = American Standard Code for Information Interchange). These are also included in the broader range of ""Unicode characters"" that provides the basis for IDNs. The ""hostname rule"" requires that all domain names of the type under consideration here are stored in the DNS using only the ASCII characters listed above, with the one further addition of the hyphen ""-"". The Unicode form of an IDN therefore requires special encoding before it is entered into the DNS. The following terminology is used when distinguishing between these forms: A domain name consists of a series of ""labels"" (separated by ""dots""). The ASCII form of an IDN label is termed an ""A-label"". All operations defined in the DNS protocol use A-labels exclusively. The Unicode form, which a user expects to be displayed, is termed a ""U-label"". The difference may be illustrated with the Hindi word for ""test"" — परीका — appearing here as a U-label would (in the Devanagari script). A special form of ""ASCII compatible encoding"" (abbreviated ACE) is applied to this to produce the corresponding A-label: xn--11b5bs1di. A domain name that only includes ASCII letters, digits, and hyphens is termed an ""LDH label"". Although the definitions of A-labels and LDH-labels overlap, a name consisting exclusively of LDH labels, such as"""" is not an IDN."