Skip to main content

Special Meeting of the Executive Committee


December 16, 1998

A special meeting of the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors of the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (the "Corporation") was held by telephone at 3:00 p.m., Eastern U.S. time, on December 16, 1998. All of the members of the Executive Committee (Esther Dyson, Greg Crew, Hans Kraaijenbrink, and Michael Roberts) were present.


The Executive Committee discussed the consensus reached during previous Board discussions that Director George Conrades be appointed chair of the Membership Advisory Committee and that Director Greg Crew also serve on the committee.

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Executive Committe unanimously approved the adoption of the following resolution.

RESOLVED [Resolution EC-1] that George Conrades be appointed chair of the Advisory Committe on Membership and that Greg Crew be appointed a member of the Advisory Committe on Membership.

The Executive Committee then discussed the recommendations that Directors George Conrades and Greg Crew had presented to Chairman Dyson following her request that they analyze the expressions of interest submitted for the Advisory Committee on Membership based on the announced criteria of diversity and broad representation.

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Executive Committee unanimously approved the adoption of the following resolution, appointing the committee members recommended by Conrades and Crew.

RESOLVED [Resolution EC-2] that the following members be appointed to the Advisory Committee on Membership:

-Izumi Aizu
-Diane Cabell
-Pavan Duggal
-Kanchana Kanchanasut
-Daniel Kaplan
-Siegfried Langenbach
-Nii Quaynor
-Oscar Robles Garay
-Dan Steinberg
-Tadao Takahashi
-Jonathan Zittrain, non-voting liaison to Berkman Center membership study

The remainder of the call consisted of an administrative update for Directors, presented by Esther Dyson and Michael Roberts, after which the call ended.

Michael Roberts
Acting Interim Assistant Secretary

Domain Name System
Internationalized Domain Name ,IDN,"IDNs are domain names that include characters used in the local representation of languages that are not written with the twenty-six letters of the basic Latin alphabet ""a-z"". An IDN can contain Latin letters with diacritical marks, as required by many European languages, or may consist of characters from non-Latin scripts such as Arabic or Chinese. Many languages also use other types of digits than the European ""0-9"". The basic Latin alphabet together with the European-Arabic digits are, for the purpose of domain names, termed ""ASCII characters"" (ASCII = American Standard Code for Information Interchange). These are also included in the broader range of ""Unicode characters"" that provides the basis for IDNs. The ""hostname rule"" requires that all domain names of the type under consideration here are stored in the DNS using only the ASCII characters listed above, with the one further addition of the hyphen ""-"". The Unicode form of an IDN therefore requires special encoding before it is entered into the DNS. The following terminology is used when distinguishing between these forms: A domain name consists of a series of ""labels"" (separated by ""dots""). The ASCII form of an IDN label is termed an ""A-label"". All operations defined in the DNS protocol use A-labels exclusively. The Unicode form, which a user expects to be displayed, is termed a ""U-label"". The difference may be illustrated with the Hindi word for ""test"" — परीका — appearing here as a U-label would (in the Devanagari script). A special form of ""ASCII compatible encoding"" (abbreviated ACE) is applied to this to produce the corresponding A-label: xn--11b5bs1di. A domain name that only includes ASCII letters, digits, and hyphens is termed an ""LDH label"". Although the definitions of A-labels and LDH-labels overlap, a name consisting exclusively of LDH labels, such as"""" is not an IDN."