Contenido disponible solo en los siguientes idiomas

  • English

Special Meeting of the Board Adopted Resolutions 9 June 2006

Special Meeting of the ICANN's Board of Directors was held via teleconference on 9 June 2006 and was called to order at 1:10 P.M. PDT US.

Vinton G. Cerf (Chairman) presided over the entire meeting. The following other Board Directors participated in all or part of the meeting: Raimundo Beca, Mouhamet Diop, Demi Getschko, , Joichi Ito, Veni Markovski, Alejandro Pisanty, Hualin Qian, Njeri Rionge, and Peter Dengate Thrush. Board Members Susan Crawford, Hagen Hultzsch, Vanda Scartezini, and Paul Twomey were not present.

Liaisons present for all or part of the Meeting included Steve Crocker (SSAC), Roberto Gaetano (ALAC), Thomas Narten (IETF), and Mohamed Sharil Tarmizi (GAC). John Jeffrey, General Counsel and Board Secretary also participated in the Meeting. Kurt Pritz, Vice President, Business Operations; and Kim Davies, IANA Technical Liaison was present for portions of the Meeting.

Review of Recommendations from Board's Compensation Committee

Redacted Information -- The details of the matters discussed during this portion of the 9 June 2006 Board Meeting were redacted from the minutes by the Board pursuant to and consistent with ICANN Bylaws at Article III, Section 5.3.

Approval of Financial Expenditures for Litigation Expert's Expenses

John Jeffrey presented to the board information regarding ongoing litigation matters and set out the issues surrounding the hiring of expert¡¦s to support ICANN¡¦s position within the current lawsuits. Following Board discussion of this matter, Vint Cerf moved and Peter Dengate Thrush seconded a motion for approval of the following resolution:

Whereas, it has been necessary for ICANN to obtain the services of experts to support its position relating to ongoing litigation matters, and has accordingly hired such consultants in consultation with ICANN¡¦s outside litigation counsel.

Whereas, the General Counsel and the Chief Financial Officer have reviewed the invoices and determined that they are proper and should be paid.

Resolved (06.__), the President is authorized to make payment to ERS Group in the amount of US$100,201.64 for expert services provided to ICANN during November 2005 through February 2006.

The resolution was approved unanimously by a voice vote of those present ¡V 9 affirmative, with no negative votes or abstentions.

Delegation of Aland Islands (.AX) Top-Level Domain

Kim Davies presented the issues surrounding .AX to the board. There was a detailed discussion about the proposed redelegation and how the criteria had been effectively met for this redelegation. Following the Board discussion, Vint Cerf moved and Veni Markovski seconded the following resolution:

Whereas, the Aland Islands is an autonomous province of the country of Finland.

Whereas, the .AX TLD was added to the ISO 3166-1 table by the ISO 3166 Maintenance Agency on 13 February 2004.

Whereas, the applicants for .AX delegation are the Regional Government of Aland in conjunction with Alands Datakommunikation Ab.

Whereas, the applicants have historically been operating the domain .ALAND.FI for the region¡¦s inhabitants as a fully functional domain name registry. Should the .AX delegation be approved, a transition of local usage from .ALAND.FI to .AX is planned.

Resolved (06.__) that the proposed delegation of the .AX ccTLD to Regional Government of Aland is hereby approved.

The resolution was approved unanimously by a voice vote of those present ¡V 9 affirmative, with no negative votes or abstentions.

The remaining agenda items were continued to the next Board Meeting.

Chairman Cerf adjourned the meeting at 2:06 PM PDT US.