ICANN Announcements

Read ICANN Announcements to stay informed of the latest policymaking activities, regional events, and more.

Update on the 2007 Nom Com Meeting in São Paulo, Brazil

20 December 2006

The 2007 ICANN Nominating Committee (NomCom) has been convened and met for the first time on 8-9 December, immediately following the ICANN Annual Meeting in São Paulo, Brazil.

During their meeting in São Paulo the ICANN Board appointed George Sadowsky to a second full term as NomCom Chair.

2007 NomCom will select:

  • Three members of the ICANN Board of Directors
  • Two members of the Council of the Generic Names Supporting Organization (GNSO)
  • One member of the Council of the Country-Code Names Supporting Organization (ccNSO)
  • Three members of the At Large Advisory Committee (ALAC) (African, Latin American and Caribbean and Asia Pacific regions)

Those selected will take their seats at the 2007 ICANN Annual Meeting, 2 November 2007.

In São Paulo the NomCom met with members of the ICANN community, including ALAC, ASO, the ICANN Board, GNSO and ccNSO. First tasks of the Committee were to begin work on procedures and a timeline for activities during 2007. The NomCom's 2007 website will be available soon, and candidate recruitment is anticipated to begin in early February 2007.

The NomCom intends to hold a workshop during the ICANN meeting in Lisbon, Portugal to provide information about progress and process and answer questions. The workshop will be webcast and remote access provided. The date of the workshop will be confirmed once the Lisbon meeting schedule is finalized.

The following individuals have been appointed to the 2007 Nominating Committee:

Karen Banks - GNSO, Non-Commercial Users Constituency
Ken Fockler - GNSO, Business Constituency (Small)
Michael Froomkin - ALAC, North America
Sandy George - Address Supporting Organization
Tony Harris - GNSO, Internet Service Providers Constituency
Wolfgang Kleinwaechter - ALAC, Europe
Lucy Lynch - Internet Engineering Task Force
Bill Manning - Root Server System Advisory Committee (non-voting liaison)
Russ Mundy - Security and Stability Advisory Committee (non-voting liaison)
Lucy Nichols - GNSO Intellectual Property Constituency
Adam Peake - Associate Chair
Madanmohan Rao - ALAC, Asia Pacific
Sebastian Ricciardi - ALAC, Latin American and Caribbean
George Sadowsky - Chair
Paul Stahura - GNSO, Registrars Constituency
Ken Stubbs - GNSO, Registry Constituency
Mohammed El Fatih El Tigani - ALAC, Africa
Christopher To - Country Code Names Supporting Organization

Seats remain open for the Governmental Advisory Committee (non-voting liaison), Business Constituency (Large), Higher Education (appointed by the ICANN Board), and Technical Liaison Group.

A review of the Nominating Committee process has also been launched. The review and 2007 NomCom are independent activities.