ICANN Announcements

Read ICANN Announcements to stay informed of the latest policymaking activities, regional events, and more.

ICANN Appoints Chair and Chair-Elect for the 2013 Nominating Committee (NomCom)

8 October 2012

The ICANN Board is pleased to announce that it has appointed Yrjö Länsipuro as Chair and Cheryl Langdon-Orr as Chair-Elect for the 2013 Nominating Committee (NomCom). Yrjö Lansipuro has selected Adam Peake as Associate Chair to the 2013 NomCom. The appointees are well-known personalities in the ICANN community with in-depth knowledge of ICANN from many years of involvement and experience in ICANN leadership functions. Yrjö Länsipuro served as a member of the 2011 and 2012 NomCom, and Adam Peake was chair of the 2011 NomCom, and Associate Chair of the 2006 and 2007 NomComs.

The NomCom Chair is responsible for organizing the NomCom in its activities to select ICANN Board members and individuals who will serve in other key leadership positions within ICANN's Supporting Organizations (SO) and Advisory Committees (AC) in accordance with ICANN's Bylaws. The Chair-Elect serves alongside the Chair, with anticipated succession into the role of the Chair for the subsequent year's NomCom. The Associate Chair assists with the duties of the Chair. The Chair, the Chair-Elect and Associate Chair are non-voting members of the NomCom.

The 2013 NomCom will launch its activities at the conclusion of the ICANN Annual General Meeting in Toronto in October 2012. Later this year, the 2013 NomCom will issue a public call for applicants to the open ICANN leadership positions and work to reach their final selections in 2013. The NomCom's activities can be followed on the NomCom website, at http://nomcom.icann.org/, where all relevant documentation regarding NomCom can be found.