Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers

Fellowships Committee

The Fellowships Committee (FC) is responsible for selecting which applicants will receive fellowships to each of the ICANN International public meetings, utilizing the vetted applications garnered through the online application system.

  1. The objectives of the Committee are:

    • To select fellows from among the applicants based on their conformity with the criteria outlined in the application and the evaluation process.
    • To act as a resource to the ICANN Board and staff by providing information and feedback on the planning, implementation and evaluation of the fellowships programme as needed.
    • To conduct outreach in support of the fellowships program and to create a pool of potential future members of the selection committee.
  2. Membership

    • The FC shall be made up of no less than four and no more than five representatives of the public with a strong history of experience with technical Internet issues, developing countries and/or Internet related development work, fellowships programmes and/or nonprofit experience.
    • Membership is at the invitation of ICANN.
  3. Terms of Service

    • Members will serve for a minimum of three ICANN Public meetings and for a maximum of three years.
    • Members may resign at any time.
    • Members will transition off the FC one member at a time when possible.
  4. Process

    • The FC will meet in person at an ICANN Public meeting once per year, preferably at the last meeting of each calendar year; if required, additional meetings of the FC shall be held via conference call during the evaluation period of the fellowships application process.
    • The FC will be required to rank applicants within regions in order of preference. The number of fellowships available will vary dependent on the location of meeting, region of applicant and budgetary constraints.
  5. Application Assessment and Decision Making Process

Each FC member reviews the applications against the questions set out in the application form:

  • Why the applicant wants to attend
  • Why the applicant feels participation in ICANN and separately in the Fellowship Programme is important for this particular meeting
  • Has this country where the applicant resides ever been represented at ICANN meetings before?
  • Has the applicant ever attended an ICANN Public meeting before?
  • What is the applicant's knowledge base and level of expertise about ICANN?
  • Is the applicant in a position to influence or teach others at home about ICANN?
  • Is the applicant from a group, organization or governmental department that makes it possible for him/her to influence Internet policy at home or in his or her region?
  • Is the applicant willing to complete feedback materials?
  • Is the applicant willing to actively participate in ICANN meetings and the fellowship alumni network?

In addition, beginning with ICANN meeting #31, comments from ICANN staff located in or with knowledge of the relevant geographic regions will be available to the FC via the Vetting Comment Period before the Committee begins their reviews.

FC members will individually review each application and assign a grade of either three (definite yes), two (maybe), one (definite no) or zero (not meeting any criteria). The FC members will then send that individual scoring information to ICANN, which is summarized within the application database.

If there are four voting FC members, the highest rank an applicant can receive is 12, the lowest a zero, and everyone will fall somewhere on the scale between 12 and zero.

If there are five voting FC members, the highest rank an applicant can receive is 15, the lowest a zero and everyone will fall somewhere on the scale between 15 and zero.

ICANN will then fill the slots from each region with preference given to those highest ranking applications from the region in which that ICANN Public meeting is being held, and then according to the scores from the FC, with attention to diversity.

Current Committee Members:

  • Mouhamet Diop – Africa: Serving through Summer 2014 (Former Board Member, CEO of NEXT SA in Senegal, Observer ASO, Active in Registrar Group)
  • Gaurab Raj Upadhaya – Asia Pacific: Serving through Summer 2015 (Sr. Network Architect, Limelight Networks Inc., Chair SANOG)
  • Nelly Stoyanova – Europe: Serving through Summer 2016 (BEREC Office, Ministry of Transport, Information Technology and Communications in Bulgaria; previously held a seat on the GAC and is an alumni of the Fellowship Program).
  • Demi Getschko – Latin American: Serving through Summer 2016 (Director and President of as well as a former member of the ICANN Board)
  • Christine Arida – Western Asia: Serving through Fall 2016 (Director for Telecom Services and Planning at the NTRA of Egypt, was among the team who first introduced the Internet in Egypt, as well as launching Egypt's Arabic ccTLD, a member of IGF MAG and secretariat of the Arab IFG; member of the Middle East Strategy Working Group (MESWG)

Past Committee Members:

  • Vanda Scartezini – Latin America – served 3 years/9 rounds
  • Steven Huter – North America – served 3 years/9 rounds
  • Erick Iriarte Ahon – Latin America – served 2 ½ years/8 rounds
  • Pierre Ouédraogo – Africa – served 1 1/2 years/5 rounds
  • Ayman El-Sherbiny – Western Asia – served 1 year/ 3 rounds
  • Hong Xie – Asia Pacific – served 3 years/9 rounds
  • Nashwa Abel Baki – Western Asia – served 3 years/9 rounds
  • Alejandro Pisanty – Latin America – served 3 years/10 rounds
  • Tatiana Chirev – Eastern Europe - served 3 years/10 rounds
  • Fahd Batayneh – Western Asia – served 3 rounds * now ICANN staff

Stay Connected

  • News Alerts:
  • Newsletter:
  • Compliance Newsletter:
  • Policy Update: