Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers

Composition of the Review Team WHOIS Policy

30 September 2010 – The Selectors of the WHOIS Policy Review Team announce the composition of the Review Team (please refer to the announcement):

RT4 – WHOIS Policy Review Team Members
SO/AC Candidates Independent Experts
Law Enforcement Representatives
The Selectors or their Designated Nominees
  • Michael Yakushev (RU) Designated Nominee of Selector Rod Beckstrom, ICANN President and CEO
    Statement of Interest [PDF, 194 KB]

  • Peter Nettlefold (AU) Designated Nominee of Selector Heather Dryden, Chair of the GAC
    Statement of Interest [PDF, 277 KB]

NOTE: 14 June 2011 - ALAC representative, Olivier Iteanu, resigns due to professional workload reasons.

9 September 2011 – The Review Team Selectors, Heather Dryden and Rod Beckstrom, appoint a new member to replace Olivier Iteanu on the WHOIS Policy Review Team. Seth Reiss joins the WHOIS Team as ALAC representative.

14 October 2011 - GNSO representative, Kim Von Arx, resigns due to professional workload reasons.

Members' individual Statements of Interest may be found at:

  • 29 July 2010 – Whereas the composition of the WHOIS Policy Review Team was initially announced at the Brussels meeting in June 2010, Selectors are now circulating a revised composition: ICANN's CEO or designated nominee
  • Chair of the GAC or designated nominee
  • 2-3 Independent Experts, Law Enforcement Representatives and Global Policy Experts (not seeking endorsement from an SO/AC) – See Call for Independent Experts, Law Enforcement Representatives and Global Policy Experts (deadline: 6 September 2010 -23:59 UTC)
  • Representatives of SO/ACs – See Call for Applicants (deadline: 29 July 2010 – 23:59 UTC)
Number of SO/AC Representatives 2 3 1 0 1 1 4

In line with the Affirmation of Commitments (AoC) provisions, the WHOIS Policy Review (WIR) is to be objectively performed by a Review Team composed of:

  • Volunteer Community Members representing the relevant Supporting Organizations and Advisory Committees of ICANN;
  • ICANN CEO (or designated nominee);
  • GAC Chair (or designated nominee);
  • Representatives of Law Enforcement
  • Global Policy Experts; and
  • Independent experts.

The composition of this Review Team shall be jointly determined by the CEO of ICANN – Mr. Rod Beckstrom – and Chair of the GAC – Mrs. Heather Dryden (in consultation with GAC Members).


Stay Connected

  • News Alerts:
  • Newsletter:
  • Compliance Newsletter:
  • Policy Update: